Is Twitter Blue Tick removal a data security concern

1197

A few years back, many people started creating fake twitter profiles to propagate fake news and to indulge in an other kind of online crimes. Later Twitter, that is now owned by Elon Musk, took stringent steps to curb the rise of fake profiles by issuing a “Verified Blue Tick” mark to all those profiles that were being created by a company, individual, group or a country.

In March this year, the Tesla Chief made it official that all the blue tick owners need to pay a premium to say to the world that they are still holding an authentic account. It started to charge $7 to those who were logging in via a web browser and $11 to those logging from their mobile phone app via iOS or Android app.

From April 20th, 2023 all those who haven’t paid a fee started loosing their Blue Tick from their twitter profiles. This only suggests that their profiles will from now on not display a tiny tick mark beside their profile.

So, is this blue tick vanish a security concern?

Well, if a blue tick is assigned to a profile, it authenticates that the username and image displayed on the profile are true and verified by the social media company. And if it doesn’t have the blue tick verified badge, there is a high possibility that the profile might be fake.

Do you need to pay the premium for the Blue Tick mark displayed?

Well, for normal postings and those who already have followers, there is no need to pay, as everyone who is following you knows who you are what you are up to. But for the new ones who want to break the internet with viral tweets, having a blue tick mark on their profile makes sense as it brings in a bouquet of benefits, apart from just offering an authenticity to the profile.

What about the fake profiles creation?

Precisely speaking, it is not that easy to create a profile these days, as the company has programmed a few of its servers to catch their fake ones and weed them out of the platform within a few hours of the profile creation. For those created by humans, it can still entertain them for a while. But those being created through virtual machines will land up in the trash bin within a time frame of 9-12 hours from creation. As the content monitoring servers of the company always filter profiles that have single email ids, fake email ids and contact numbers, along with images that do not reciprocate.

Ad
Naveen Goud
Naveen Goud is a writer at Cybersecurity Insiders covering topics such as Mergers & Acquisitions, Startups, Cyber Attacks, Cloud Security and Mobile Security

No posts to display