Google makes changes to its Data Retention Laws

426

Google has made changes to its data privacy laws by giving its users the privilege of customizing the feature of how long the search engine giant maintains and stores the search and location history on its servers.

The internet juggernaut has started sending an email to all its customers regarding privacy change and is urging them to review the latest privacy developments.


According to an email received from Google, the tech giants will from now on auto-delete the content accessed by users on Youtube, search and location history along with voice commands after 18 months on a default note. 

However, the user has the option to customize this feature to 3 months or the best he/she can select.

Previously the company was offering this feature to users who opted for it and was retaining the data of others for 36 months. But as per the new status, the Alphabet Inc’s subsidiary has decided to delete the data of its users strictly after 18 months on a default note.

“As we are designing new products, our focus is on three main things- treating it responsibly, putting the user in full control and keeping it safe from prying eyes”, says Sundar Pichai, the Google CEO.

All new users who are opting for Google’s online services on a fresh note will gain the option by default. And as said earlier, the existing account holders will be notified about the change via email by this month-end.